Maame-y-aa

Name:

Maame-y-aa Labri-Mensah

Age:

16

Studies:

City & Islington

Music

RnB

What are your interests and hobbies?
I like going to school. My favourite subject is biology. I also like dancing.

How long have you been coming to Lift?
About two or three years. I first came with my sister who has been coming a long time.

What do you do at Lift?
Most weeks I book out the dance studio through Free Space.  There are about eight of us and we meet and practice K-pop dances that we learn from videos. We have done a couple of performances but mostly it's just for fun. We also eat here every Friday. The food is really good and we hope it isn't all finished by the time we have finished dancing.

How has Lift helped you?
It gives me the space to practice my dancing. If it wasn't for Lift we would have to practice outdoors and this could only be in the summer.

The staff here are really nice. I am a really shy person and at school I only speak to my friends but I can talk to other people here.

What is the most important thing you have learnt at Lift?
It has increased my confidence and I can socialise.

What is the most fun you have ever had?
One time we turned off all the lights in the studio and played music like we were in a concert and used our phones as flashlights.

What would you say to a young person that has never been here before?
It's fun, people here are nice and there is alot to do.

What do you hope to be doing in three years’ time?
I want to be at University doing a degree in bio-medical science.

How is Lift helping you get there?
It helps me maintain a socal life and develop communications skills. I guess I wouldnt speak if I didn't come here.

Last updated: 4/3/2024 11:18AM