Meet Amar


Amar Rupawala






Hip hop, RnB, Punjabi and Hindi

What are your interests and hobbies?
Exercising, training, listening to music and I love cooking.

How long have you been coming to Lift?
Only two months - I started in January 2023. My therapist at Arsenal hub suggested I come here to make new friends and learn life skills like cooking. Covid and lockdown were a big thing, social interaction is so important. It felt like the time to meet new people.

What do you do at Lift?
Creative Cooking, Lift Gym, podcasting and table tennis. I recently did a workshop with the police and also a consulation with Islington Councillors.

How has Lift helped you?
I have gained friendships and relationships, built my confidence and become more happy. Everyone is really nice - like one big family. Even if they really don't know me that well I know they have my back.

What are the most important things you have learnt at Lift?
How to communcate with people, make friends and cook.

What is the most fun you have ever had?
Joking about with everyone, the banter here is fun.

What would you say to a young person that has never been here before?
Lift is a really inclusive space, everyone is friendly and you will learn new skills.

What do you hope to be doing in three years’ time?
Get a good job and earn enough to provide for myself and my family. I am working towards being a personal trainer. Longer term I would like to run my own PT business. I had a stroke when I was eight months old and this has motivated me to aim to specialise helping people with disabilties through exercise.

How is Lift helping you get there?
I have been going to employability sessions. I also previoulsy did a Summerversity course in Sports Leadership with Access to Sports.

Last updated: 8/3/2023 07:49PM